At times putting the post- into rock, and at others kicking the whole bloody fence down, Jakob’s lush and textured take on the guitar/bass/drums format continues to broaden and enthrall with every performance and release. Their music is captivating and mesmerizing, the sedate becoming devastating in the blink of a crowd’s collective eye.

Echoing the graduated inclines and unexpected progressions found in their music and the expansive landscapes of their surroundings, this Napier three-piece has developed consistently, if sometimes unpredictably, since their formation in 1998. Since that time Jakob have connected listeners the world over with their cascading crescendos, performing at South By Southwest 2005 (one of the Austin Chronicle’s picks of the festival), Denmark’s Forma Nova Festival, and touring the UK and USA supporting the likes of Mono, Pelican, and The Hidden Hand along the way. Not that the band hasn’t left audiences around New Zealand enthralled – notable shows around the country include Big Day Out appearances in consecutive years, a tour playing with former Can frontman Damo Suzuki, and poster space shared with the likes of HDU, Meterman, and Avotor.

Having succeeded admirably from early on at capturing the phenomenal interaction, intuition, and illumination of their live shows, Jakob’s discography includes three full-length albums – Subsets of Sets, recorded with longtime producer David Holmes, Cale:Drew, which saw Jesse Booher (Looma) share the producer credit with Holmes and finally their new album Solace. Other releases include a CD single and EP, a 7″ on The Datsuns’ Hellsquad label, and in 2005 their third 7″ through New York’s Graveface Records.

Ready yourself for the intensity of a live performance, and be prepared to be absorbed into the delicacy of their recordings – Jakob traverse an aural wilderness, a journey on which you must accompany them.


Her Short Haircut [7"]
Jakob EP [CD]
Subsets Of Sets [CD]
Cale:Drew [CD]
Semaphore 7″
The Diffusion Of Our Current Situation 7″
Dominion EP[CD]
Solace [CD/2LP]

Also the Jakob track: “Method” appears on the 12″ Various Artists compilation “Coalescence” released on Midium Records. This was recorded in the Cale:Drew sessions and is exclusive to the compilation.

The Avotor remix of “Pneumonic” appears on the V/A compilation “A Flip And Two Twisters” available on 12″ double LP only on the label “The Kingsland Vinyl Appreciation Society”.

An initial demo of “Semaphore” also appears on “A Flip And Two Twisters”.

A remix by Klute of “Oran Mor” appears on the compilation “Effectuation” available on 12″ vinyl.

Maurice Beckett: Bass, Vocals
Jeff Boyle: Guitar, Samples
Jason Johnston: Drums, Samples


« Back to Artists